Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Expert Knob Twiddlers (Aphex Twin, Muziq) Vinyl 3LP

Planet MuSKU lp-8032

1996 collab from RDJ + Planet Mu boss reissued w/ bonus tracks
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $31.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 319 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Finally back in print after over two decades! Back in 1996, Richard D. James (aka Aphex Twin) teamed up with Micheal Paradinis (aka µ-Ziq) for a one-off collab project under the simple moniker Mike & Rich. The album was called Expert Knob Twiddlers (it can be argued that even to this day Aphex and Muziq are two of the best knob twiddlers around) and was "an updated version of easy listening and funk" according to Paradinis. The project definitely has a funky lean to it, as most of the tracks center around loops and samples (both funk and easy listening) giving it an overall loose and kitschy feel (see "Mr. Frosty" or "Reg"). Of course there's a fair amount of "knob twiddling" going on with synths getting tweaked and freaked all over the place in stereo (ahem, "Jelly Fish"). It is rumored that the two would get drunk (which is something neither really did) and mess around with samples and gear when producing the tracks for Mike & Rich, which would certainly explain the fun, carefree feel. In addition to the original album, this 2016 reissue includes 7 previously unreleased bonus tracks including "Vodka Mix 2," "Portamento Gosh," "Waltz," "Organ Plodder," and more. Triple LP pressing on Paradinis' Planet Mu label. Recommended.

  • triple LP reissue
  • features 7 previously unreleased bonus tracks
  • originally released in 1996
  • music label: Planet Mu 2016
reviewed by Milk Man 09/2016
UPC: 66513800


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed