Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

World War III (Music On Vinyl 180g, Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

Music On VinylSKU rr-2393

1980 rub a dub classic, ft. Scientist + Roots Radics
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $29.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 299 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

This is Mikey Dread's most celebrated album and has been a very tough one to come up with in the last few years. World War 3 is his style at its finest, featuring excellent instrumentation run through Mikey's totally unique production. He's got a dubbed-up, roots-synthesized sound bubbling under everything. "Break Down The Walls" is the biggest masher here, a feel-good anthem running over the bouncing Rougher Yet riddim. Respect to Uncle Jim for introducing me to that one so many summers ago. The album begins with its most up-beat moment, "Jumping Master," set off by a reverbed record rewind and heavily effected throughout. Mikey Dread name-checks the entire band (Roots Radics), production squad (Tubby, Jammy and Scientist) and whoever else he feels like: "Scientist he a the apprentice masta, Bingy Bunny just a spice up the masta," etc. He switches up the style pretty frequently through tunes like the above, the joyful "Jah Jah Love" and the deep roots sound of "Israel Stylee." 9 tracks total, most appearing in a semi-extended form with plenty of dub time. Recommended.

  • 180g transparent yellow colored vinyl
  • individually numered + foil-stamped
  • limited edition of 1500
  • original release year: 1980
  • music label: Music On Vinyl 2022
reviewed by the mgmnt 08/2005
UPC: 8719262022515


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed