Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Birth Of The Cool (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

DolSKU fr-4639

revolutionary post-bebop recordings from iconic trumpeter
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $20.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 209 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A

Lab Overview

Originally released in 1957, Birth of the Cool compiles 11 songs recorded by Miles Davis and his cohort of musicians (they together through experiments / rehearsals at arranger Gil Evans’ New York apartment) between 1949 and 1950. It’s an influential LP that marks a major development in post-bebop, namely, as the title of the album implies, the birth of cool jazz. Musicians that took part in the 12-tracker are Lee Konitz, Gerry Mulligan, Al McKibbon, Max Roach, Al Haig and more, and some of the compositions included are “Jeru,” “Move,” “Boplicity,” “Budo,” and “Moon Dreams.”

  • white colored vinyl
  • featuring Miles Davis (t), Lee Konitz (a. sax), Gerry Mulligan (b. sax), Al Haig (p), John Lewis (p), Al McKibbon (b), Joe Schulman (b), Nelson Boyd (b), Max Roach (d), Kenny Clarke (d) + more
  • limited edition
  • music label: Dol 2021
reviewed by donut savage 10/2016
UPC: 889397006389


Review & Q+A

Labheads Also Viewed