Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Black Beauty (Music On Vinyl 180g) Vinyl 2LP

Music On VinylSKU fr-4708

Bitches Brew-era live set opening for Grateful Dead in S.F.
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $39.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 399 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"Black Beauty, Miles Davis At Fillmore West, was recorded on April 10, 1970 at Fillmore West, San Francisco, when Davis performed as the opening act for the Grateful Dead. The recording took place shortly after the release of Miles' classic album Bitches Brew. The album was released in 1973, originally in Japan only. Black Beauty, a true jazz-rock album, captured one of Davis' first performances at a rock venue during the early stages of his electric period. At the concert, he led his band (saxophonist Steve Grossman, bassist Dave Holland, keyboardist Chick Corea, drummer Jack DeJohnette, and percussionist Airto Moreira) through one continuously performed set list. The songs in the band's set list were as followed: 'Directions', 'Miles Runs the Voodoo Down', 'Willie Nelson', 'I Fall In Love Too Easily', 'Sanctuary', 'It's About That Time', 'Bitches Brew', 'Masqualero', 'Spanish Key', and 'The Theme'. They were performed as one continuous and uninterrupted piece of music, a practice Davis had begun in 1967. He later explained in his autobiography that performing these kinds of long musical suites without breaks allowed more space for improvisations in concert. The original Japanese booklet is included in this vinyl package." - Music On Vinyl

  • 180g black double vinyl pressing
  • first time on vinyl in 19+ years
  • housed in gatefold sleeve
  • includes reproduction of 4-page liner note booklet from the original Japan release
  • original release year: 1973
  • music label: Music On Vinyl 2016
UPC: 8718469539185


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed