Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Nefertiti (Numbered Limited Edition 45rpm, 180g) Vinyl 2LP

Mobile Fidelity Sound LabSKU fr-3030

high quality pressing of the classic Davis post-bop album
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $49.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 499 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Collectible, audiophile pressing! Nefertiti will always be remembered as Miles Davis' final acoustic album recorded with his classic second quintet. It found the quintet shifting its focus towards rhythm and exploratory soundscapes. Davis handed songwriting duties over to his more than capable band members, Wayne Shorter and Herbie Hancock. This allowed Davis the opportunity to focus on his own playing. The songs sound familiar, rooted in hard bop, but there is slight dissonance that gives way to subconscious impressionism. Shorter's groundbreaking title track - during which the horn section recurrently repeats the melody as drummer Tony Williams and bassist Ron Carter improvise, thus inverting the conventional sense of a rhythm section - showcased the quintet's unity in exploring new directions. The ensemble keeps searching, looking for new ground and moving forward as a committed unit. One of Davis' most quintessential efforts.

  • numbered limited edition
  • remastered from the original master tapes
  • 180 gram double LP pressed at 45 rpm
  • music label: Columbia 1967 / Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab 2014
reviewed by Cool Hand 10/2014
UPC: 93952556


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed