Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Sketches Of Spain (Mofi 180g) Vinyl LP

Mobile Fidelity Sound LabSKU fr-4144

1960 follow up to Kind Of Blue, half-speed master from original tapes
1 Review
| Ask a question
sale $39.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 399 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Special audiophile edition on 180 gram vinyl. This album pairs up Miles Davis with arranger and composer Gil Evans.  The compositions are inspired by traditional Spanish folk music and go in a different direction than the pair's previous two records together.  Evans' arrangements make effective use of wind instruments where other composers would have turned to strings.  Flute, trumpet and trombone make the bed for Davis' lead.  Miles seems to have gained some Andalusian gypsy ancestry with this record.  His trumpet playing evokes the cante hondo guitar stylings found in folk music from the region.  When talking about this record Davis is quoted as having said, "I always manage to try something I can't do."  He appears to wipe that sentiment away with his effortless improvising over the complex score that Evans has crafted. Limited numbered edition featuring half-speed production and mastering by MoFi Sound Lab on the Gain 2 Ultra Analog System.

  • 180 gram audiophile pressing
  • mastered from original master tapes
  • half-speed production + mastering on the Gain 2 Ultra Analog System
  • limited numbered edition
  • music label: Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab 2013
reviewed by DRM 09/2012
UPC: 0821797137515


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed