Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Be The Cowboy Vinyl LP

Dead OceansSKU lp-10267

tender balladry from charismatic NYC songwriter
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$22.95 Original Price$24.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 229 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Where have all the cowboys gone? Be The Cowboy finds Mitski Miyawaki examining the expectations we have for artists to be beaming and strong but still vulnerable, an expectation she found rather exhausting after the success of 2016’s Puberty 2: “A lot of this record was me not having any feelings, being completely spent, but then trying to rally myself and wake up and get back to Mitski. I was feeling really nihilistic and trying to make pop songs.” Lead single “Geyser” finds Mitski’s porcelain-like vocals and uplifting piano vamps fighting against a bed of electronic glitches and brooding synth strings, before all the uncertainty and vulnerability is swept away by an enormous crescendo of drums and guitars announcing Mitski as indie’s new vanguard. The rest of the LP finds her charismatic balladry coupled with dense piano, guitar and drum arrangements, accentuated with electronic textures courtesy of longtime co-producer Patrick Hyland. Speaking on the album title, Mitski explains: “With a lot of the romantic infatuations I've had, when I look back, I wonder, did I want them or did I want to be them? Did I love them or did I want to absorb whatever power they had? I decided I could just be my own cowboy figure that I so desire.” Be the cowboy you want to see in the world. Black vinyl pressing, includes special edition poster and download card.

  • black vinyl pressing
  • includes giant foldout poster
  • gatefold jacket w/ printed inner sleeve
  • digital download included
  • music label: Dead Oceans 2018
reviewed by big dumb man 05/2018
UPC: 656605145013


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed