Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Play - The B Sides Vinyl 2LP

Little IdiotSKU lp-9695

collected rarities from the Play sessions, first time on wax!
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $41.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 419 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A

Lab Overview

Collected rarities from the Play sessions on vinyl for the first time! According to Moby: “The B Sides is a collection of songs that weren't quite appropriate for Play, but that I still love enough to release as B-sides. Some of these songs might not be instantly accessible, but I (immodestly) think they are all quite special.” True, there are no huge collabs with Gwen Stefani here; this comp plays like a gentler, slightly more experimental run-through of the Play pedigree with fewer vocals and more atmosphere. It starts off with blues/gospel clap-a-long “Flower,” one of Moby’s biggest tunes of all time (which I actually thought was on Play until today). Once that’s out of the way, there’s actually some interesting stuff going on, suggesting an alternate timeline where Moby released this instead of Play and stayed underground: the 135 bpm pulsing trance / techno of “Running” recalls the old raver Moby, “Spirit” is a sunny slice of Hollywood soundtrack drum & bass, “Flying Over The Dateline” sounds like some vintage Artificial Intelligene-era Warp bliss. Or if you’re just sick and tired of “Porcelain” (shout out to A$AP Rocky and his embarrassingly shallow crates) check out the majestic “Summer” or “Sunspot.” Initially available only on CD; this is the first time the full album has ever been pressed on vinyl. 11 tracks total, spread over 4 sides of wax with printed inner sleeves, released by Moby’s own Little Idiot imprint.

  • double vinyl pressing
  • printed inner sleeves
  • first time on vinyl
  • music label: Little Idiot 2018
reviewed by big dumb man 06/2018
UPC: 09066104


Review & Q+A

Labheads Also Viewed