Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Moondog Vinyl LP

LegacySKU lp-9367

the 6th avenue viking's 1969 self-titled effort
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$14.95 Original Price$19.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 149 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A

Lab Overview

The Viking of 6th Avenue's seminal 1969 album back in print after more than a decade. Moondog was a percussionist and composer who lived a great part of his life on the streets of New York, dressed like a viking (he says, because it made him look less like Jesus), and was lauded by Stravinski, Janis Joplin, Philip Glass, Charlie Parker and many others. He was blind from the age of 16, and classically trained. Most of his work incorporated elements of jazz, classical and the Native American drum patterns he learned as a boy growing up in Kansas. Of the songs featured here, the one you'll probably recognize is "Lament 1 (Bird's Lament)," which was recorded as a tribute to Charlie Parker and then later used as the main sample source for Mr. Scruff's "Get A Move On!" Eight tracks in all. Released by Legacy on black vinyl, housed in gatefold sleeve with extensive liner notes.

  • gatefold sleeve
  • music label: Legacy 2017
reviewed by Harry & Larry 05/2017
    UPC: 27546120


    Review & Q+A

    Labheads Also Viewed