Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

The Original Sound Of Mali Vinyl 2LP

Mr BongoSKU lp-8600

deep, lyrical West African music from '70s-'80s compiled
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $27.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 279 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"Malian music is arguably deeper, more sophisticated and lyrical than any other form of African music," reads the opening sentence of the accompanying 24-page booklet to Mr Bongo: The Original Sound of Mali. The 11-track compilation, expertly curated by Dave "Mr Bongo" Buttle, Vik Sophonie, and Florent Mazzoleni, surveys the rich musical tradition of the landlocked West African country, with a focus on recordings from '70s-'80s. During this period, the government of Mali, helmed by Moussa Traore, welcomed in "a more modern society" through the use of culture; musicians, orchestras, and dancers from across Mali came together in the capital city of Bamako every two years, and their creations were recorded and broadcasted throughout the nation, which lead to names like Rail Band, Super Djata Band, Sorry Bamba, and Idrissa Soumaoro Et L'Eclipse de L'lja leaving behind bodies of work that fuse "tradition, progression, raw expression, and sheer enthusiasm" with guitar licks, organs, hypnotic vocals, and robust horn sections. Check out "Mouodilo," Yayoroba," "Mandjou," Mali Ni Woula," "Nissodia (Joie de l'optimisme), and "Fama Allah."

  • includes 24-page booklet
  • gatefold sleeve
  • 11 tracks in all
  • music label: Mr Bongo 2017
reviewed by eneye 04/2017

A post shared by @turntablelab on


UPC: 55406600


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed