Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Salt (Indie Exclusive) Vinyl LP

Twin GroupSKU lp-10496

chameleonic effort from one of NY's hardest working indie bands
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$16.95 Original Price$20.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 169 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

“You’re crystal now, but there you’ll be gone…” We’ve been waiting nearly 6 months to get this third album from NYC via Long Island four-piece Mr Twin Sister (fka Twin Sister) on wax, which has been streaming since October, but that’s the grind when you produce, record, release and distribute all your own music. Their 2014 self-titled album was a major creative breakthrough, and they’ve managed to keep it fresh while persevering through a name change, label drama, a collective near-death experience and the obstacles of self-releasing; demonstrating just how far they’ve come - and how far they’re willing to go - straight out the gate on the 2-step electro swang of “Keep On Mixing,” channeling the slickness of Basement Jaxx and Fever-era Kylie Minogue on their indictment of racial intolerance. Short and sweet at just 9 tracks, with almost nothing indicating this is the same band that did “Meet The Frownies” or Color Your Life; Salt sees the band playing nine distinct hands which demonstrate their ability to move freely between vibes and sounds, all to intoxicating effect. The dreamy jazz of “Alien FM” makes great use of Pablo Eluchans’ superior drumming, casually sprinkled with moody piano chords, harp licks and atmospheric pads. “Taste In Movies” sees frontwoman Andrea Estella joined by guitarist / saxophonist / sometimes vocalist Eric Cardona over an airy afrobeat shuffle. Elsewhere, on "Tops And Bottoms," Estella vents ludicrous (but extremely relatable) sartorial frustrations through her signature robot filter over an immaculate boogie track. Album coda “Set Me Free” sees the band further stretching their sound palette with 8 minutes of slow-lurching dubwise trip-hop à la Rhythm & Sound and Massive Attack. This is the indie exclusive edition (gotta admire the commitment to black vinyl) including a foldout poster insert with full album lyrics, glossy press photo, die-cut sticker and download code. Recommended.

  • indie exclusive vinyl edition
  • includes glossy press photo + die-cut sticker
  • foldout poster insert includes full album lyrics
  • limited edition
  • digital download included
  • music label: Twin Group 2019
reviewed by Isosceles Kramer 04/2019
UPC: 634457812086


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed