Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Brand New Day Vinyl 2LP

ApolloSKU dm-5680

stunning deep techno from Japan
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $23.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 239 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

In an already extraordinary year for techno reissues, R&S come through with a complete collection of Mr. YT’s singles on R&S sublabels Generations, Apollo and Global Cuts. Mr. YT is the alias of Yuji Takenouchi, a Japanese producer and composer who released a string of techno and ambient records in the 90s inspired by Ron Trent, Carl Craig and Basic Channel. While his physical output is painfully limited, Takenouchi is an active video game music composer and sound designer, with credits dating all the way back to 1989 and reaching into the more recent Dark Souls franchise. This double LP collects the aggravatingly rare Brand New Day, Southern Paradise and Parfum EPs in full, with an all-new track sequence that posits these 9 spectacular cuts into an hour-long night drive that is as contemplative as it is romantic. Brand New Day demonstrates Takenouchi’s incredible range as a producer, with deftly-executed excursions into New York-via-Detroit garage, ethereal soundscapes and Hardwax-style techno. Six-minute ambient opener “Morning” sets the tone with ultra-deep late night pads and bubbling synth chords. “Nite”, “Afternoon” and “Ocean In Heaven” are some of the finest Detroit techno tracks produced east of the Great Lakes. The highlight, for us, is 10-minute centerpiece “Pacific Jazz”; a slow crawl towards the sublime with infinitely layered pads, strings and percussion weaving over one another. Brand New Day is deep, late night music that reveals itself over repeat listens; a transcendent voyage for the mind and body. Recommended.

  • music label: Apollo 2017
reviewed by peanut dust 03/2017
UPC: 67779528


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed