Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

mum: Yesterday Was Dramatic - Today Is OK (20th Anniversary Edition) Vinyl 3LP

MORR MusicSKU lp-10711

highly influential folk / electronic hybrid, inc'l bonuses new & old
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$37.95 Original Price$47.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 379 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Much like Licorice, crustaceans, and aluminum, múm is one Iceland’s many great exports. The group was formed in 1997 by Gunnar Örn Tynes, Örvar Þóreyjarson Smárason, and classically trained twin sisters Gyða and Kristín Anna Valtýsdóttir. (Trivia - the Valtýsdóttir sisters are the gals on the front of Fold Your Hands Child… by Belle & Sebastian) They first met while at work on a children’s play, but it was a change of perspective after Smárason first heard Aphex Twin that most shaped the direction of the group. Yesterday Was Dramatic - Today Is OK was originally released on December 23, 1999, and was one of the first records to combine folk music with elements of what was then called “electronica”. It’s a chill, airy listen overall, the tranquility occasionally disturbed by glitchy beats or instrumental flourishes. “Combining drill-and-bass-inspired beat-chopping, future-informed DSP-programming, ethereal vocal work, indie rock's boominess, folk music's soulful brittleness, and a lofty feeling for melody and arrangement, the album is a rare example of musical transcendence and remains impossible to categorize.” Difficult to categorize as it may be, we think it sits somewhere between Autechre, Sigur Rós, and the Cocteau Twins. Includes “The Ballad of the Broken Birdie Records”, “Slow Bicycle”, and “There Is A Number Of Small Things”. The third disc includes early 2000s remixes by µ-Ziq, Ruxpin, and Biogen in addition to new cover versions by the Kronos Quartet and Hauschka.

  • 20th anniversary 3LP pressing
  • includes bonus remix disc
  • digital download included
  • limited edition
  • tracklist: 01. I’m 9 Today 02. Smell Memory 03. There Is A Number Of Small Things 04. Random Summer 05. Asleep On A Train 06. Awake On A Train 07. The Ballad Of The Broken Birdie Records 08. The Ballad Of The Broken String 09. Sunday Night Just Keeps On Rolling 10. Slow Bicycle 11. The Ballað Of The Broken Birdie Records (Ruxpin Remix II) 12. Smell Memory (Bix Remix) 13. There Is A Number Of Small Things & The Ballad Of The Broken Birdie Records (µ-Ziq Straight Mix) 14. The Ballad Of The Broken Birdie Records (Biogen Mix) 15. Smell Memory (Kronos Quartet) 16. Random Summer (Hauschka) 17. Ballad Of The Broken String (Sóley)
  • music label: MORR MUSIC 2019
reviewed by HÁKARL 07/2019
UPC: 880918805818


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed