Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Masquerade (Splatter Colored Vinyl) Vinyl 2LP

House ArrestSKU lp-10979

debut studio lp from Chinese-American viral singer songwriter
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $28.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 289 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Mxmtoon (aka Maia) is a Chinese-American singer-songwriter that hails from Oakland, California. She became interested in music at a young age, learning classical cello and trumpet, later going on to become the vocalist of the school’s rock band. She began playing the guitar in sixth grade, leading to a lifelong love of stringed instrumentation. She soon picked up the ukelele and began posting songs to Youtube, quickly developing a devoted fanbase. She is often compared to Fiona Apple and PJ Harvey, but she also integrates elements of anti-folk similar to the Moldy Peaches and Frankie Cosmos. the masquerade is her debut studio album, lo-fi pop in the relatable twee tradition updated for the age of the internet celebrity.  “prom dress”  is post-CRJ sophisti-pop, neatly arranged instrumentation and confessional lyrics. “blame game” is summery strings and fingersnap percussion, “dream of you” is acoustic twang and delicate keys. The second disc includes acoustic takes on all 10 tracks, giving a deeper insight into her songwriting process. This album is pressed on limited edition ‘opalescent’ colored vinyl and is packaged in a deluxe jacket with foil accents, includes a printed insert with full album credits.

  • 'opalescent' clear w/ white & gold splatter colored vinyl
  • 2nd disc includes acoustic versions of all 10 album tracks
  • housed in gatefold sleeve with holographic accents
  • includes printed insert
  • limited edition
  • music label: House Arrest 2019
reviewed by CLUB PENGUIN 11/2019
UPC: 734038994016


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed