Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Illmatic Gold Edition CD Boxset

Get On DownSKU cd-3654

deluxe reissue of Nas' debut
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $39.00
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 390 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Now this is how you properly celebrate a hip hop classic! When you first get your hands on this boxset you'll be more than impressed with the packaging. From the "Cherrywood Trophy Box" to the 24k Audiophile Gold Disc CD, Get On Down has gone the extra mile to pay homage to Nas' startling debut. Plus the hardcover book, loaded with rare pics and informative liner notes from Nas himself, Jon Shecter of the Source, DJ Premier, MC Serch, Large Pro, Q-Tip, etc. is the icing on the cake. Here's what the mgmnt had to say when we first started carrying Illmatic: What can I say about this album? Easily in the top 10 of all time, there is no way to pick favorites on this album. Not even one okay track on here. Everything is amazing. When this came out in 94, it was one of the most anticipated albums of all time, taking about two years to finally release. And it dropped with ten songs, no filler, blowing the lid off everybody. Nas wrote the deepest street poetry, touched inner thoughts and demons and still shot his way out his momma's stomach, went to hell for snuffin Jesus. Got the best producers in New York (Pete Rock, Large Professor, Q-Tip, Trackmasters, Premier) to turn in some of their best work ever for one of the best albums ever. One of the few albums I can just keep flipping over and over and over to this day. Little known fact: the trumpet solo on the end of "Life's a Bitch" is performed by Nas' father, the accomplished jazz man Olu Dara. Recommended.

  • 24k Audiophile Gold Disc CD with re-mastered audio
  • housed in a "Cherrywood Trophy Box" with gold plaque
  • 48 page full-color, hard cover book including extended artwork, full album lyrics and liner notes from The Source founder Jon Shecter
  • limited to 2000 copies
  • vinyl version also available
  • music label: Get On Down 2012
reviewed by Joey Coco 02/2013
UPC: 64359624


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed