Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

The Proposition Soundtrack (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

MuteSKU lp-10208

hauntingly beautiful soundtrack from Bad Seeds front-man + cohort
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $23.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 239 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

A soundtrack that makes the intimate seem epic and the quiet seem thunderous. Nick Cave is a man of many hats. Best known as the front-man for Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, Cave is also a prolific author, composer, screenwriter, and occasional film actor (check out the 1987 cult film Wings of Desire for a peek). The Proposition was Cave's first foray into soundtrack composition, and boy is it a doozy! Sonically a departure from previous work, Cave composed the music and wrote the screenplay for the film of the same name (which came out in 2005 and is available on vinyl for the first time), which follows the harrowing story of bushrangers in late 19th century Australia. Working with fellow Bad Seed Warren Ellis, the duo create a soundtrack that bridges folk, fragmented church hymns, avant-garde drones, haunting violin melodies and whispered lyricism. The sonic narrative the soundtrack creates allows it to stand apart from the movie as a standalone record, but in conjunction with the film it becomes an even more evocative sonic landscape. On tracks like 'The Proposition #1' the dissonant ambient background is cut with Ellis' violin melody to create a sinister sonic palette that places the listener into the tale of suspense and blood. Elsewhere, Cave and Ellis set fluttering piano, shuffling rhythms and swirling violin against flat drones, evoking the wide expanse of the Australian range. The soundtrack is best described by Cave himself: "there are moments of intense violence and there are also moments of long, lyrical, quiet sadness." Limited Edition gold colored vinyl pressing, 16 tracks in all housed in a gatefold sleeve with printed inner. Released by Mute.

  • Limited Edition
  • available for the first time on vinyl
  • gold vinyl
  • Mute 2018
reviewed by Ralphy Corduroy 1/2019
UPC: 34807152


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed