Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

A Word Of Science - The 1st & Final Chapter (Free MP3) Vinyl 2LP

Warp RecordsSKU lp-6330

breaks heavy debut album from the downtempo producer
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $24.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 249 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Back in 1991 Nightmares On Wax was introduced to the world by the UK's Warp Records. The then duo of George "DJ E.A.S.E." Evelyn and Kevin "Boywonder" Harper had released a few singles before committing their productions to a full length effort. Before the trip hop and downtempo labels were applied NOW was swimming in the murky waters that surround New York house and electro, Detroit techno and soul, and London rave and acid. There are hints of what would come on later releases like Smokers Delight and Carboot Soul. However, some of the better tracks on A Word Of Science take cues from the hardcore rave and jungle that was popular in the UK at the time. Take the classic "Aftermath" with its heavy breakbeat influence or the bleeps and breaks of "Dexterous." The duo also enlisted Tozz 180 for Golden Era inspired "Mega Donutz" and gave listeners a taste of what would come on future releases with tracks like "Playtime" and the Steve Miller sampling "Back Into Time." Looking back A Word Of Science serves as a testament to the diversity in music coming in and out of the UK at the end of the 20th century.

  • debut album originally released in 1991
  • double LP housed in a gatefold sleeve
  • music label: Warp Records 1991 / 2014
reviewed by Hank Ohs 10/2014
UPC: 84060116


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed