Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Mood Indigo - The Complete Bethlehem Singles (Bonus Version) Vinyl LP+7"

Bethlehem RecordsSKU fr-3771

earliest recordings from iconic singer compiled
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $24.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 249 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A

Lab Overview

Nina Simone started playing nightclubs in 1954, and she quickly became a fixture in the East Coast circuit. This attracted attention from labels, and in 1957, she signed a contract with Bethlehem Records, a jazz subsidiary of Syd Nathan's King Records. While w/ the imprint, Simone famously fought to choose her own material, something that was unheard of at the time, and one of the first songs she recorded was "I Loves You Porgy" from Porgy and Bess, which did very well in the pop charts. Her unique blend of jazz, blues, classical, soul, gospel, & pop is brought to life alongside Simone's signature emotional honesty on this compilation, and fans will be delighted at the fact all of her earliest singles are, for the first time, in one carefully curated and packaged release. Check out "He's Got The Whole World In His Hands" (this one is an alternate take), "Love Me Or Leave Me," "My Baby Just Cares for Me," and "He Needs Me." Comes w/ a bonus 7" w/ a remastered version of of "Porgy (I Loves You, Porgy)," w/ "Love Me Or Leave Me" on the flip.

  • features 7 unique single-only versions & an alternate take of "He's Got The Whole World In His Hands
  • all previously only available on the original 45s
  • notes by Ashley Kahn, includes interview w/ bassist Al "Tootie" Heath
  • includes bonus 45 replica of "Porgy (I Loves You Porgy)"
  • music label: Bethlehem Records 2018
reviewed by rei kwondo 02/2018
UPC: 64251912


Review & Q+A

Labheads Also Viewed