Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Everyday! details

Nina Simone Sings The Blues (Music On Vinyl 180g) Vinyl LP

Music On VinylSKU lp-7435

one of Simone's rawest recordings
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$29.95 Original Price$34.99
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 299 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

First album from Nina Simone on RCA Victor. Nina Simone Sings The Blues was originally released in 1967 and was a departure from the orchestral recordings of Simone's Philips Records releases. She was backed by guitarists Eric Gale and Rudy Stevenson, bassist Bob Bushnell, Bernard "Pretty" Purdie on drums, organist Ernie Hayes, and Buddy Lucas on harmonica who pulled double duty on the saxophone. The song selection is down and dirty, peppered with some of Simone's signature tunes. The stripped back band, coupled with Simone's interpretation of the material produced one of her rawest recordings. A true classic. Includes the songs: "My Man's Gone Now," "Backlash Blues," "Since I Fell for You," and "The House of the Rising Sun." Eleven tracks in all. Released by Music On Vinyl on 180 gram vinyl.

  • 180 gram pressing
  • music label: RCA Victor 1967 / Music On Vinyl 2013
reviewed by Hank Ohs 02/2016
UPC: 29742020


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed