Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Pastel Blues Vinyl LP

VerveSKU fr-4895

essential Nina, includes 'Sinnerman' + 'Strange Fruit'
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $25.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 259 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Perhaps the rhythmic rager “Sinnerman” is what Pastel Blues has become best known for, but the 1965 album, from the bare opener “Be My Husband” to the aforementioned dj-favorite & licensing-goldmine, is one of the finest from a true great. Nina Simone’s vocals and piano do most of the talking in the vernacular of blues, jazz, soul, gospel, and folk, with tracks like “Nobody Knows You When You’re Down and Out,” “Trouble in Mind,” and “Tell Me More and More and Then Some,” originally by Billie Holiday, delivering an intimate, raw, and surprisingly whimsical trip into the bluest of emotions. Another BH original, “Strange Fruit,” appears on the full-length, and it’s a gritty outpour of pain and suffering. Just powerful, and yes, sampled by ‘Ye in “Blood on the Leaves.”

  • black vinyl pressing
  • original release year: 1965
  • music label: Verve 2020
reviewed by the_lighted 04/2016
UPC: 600753605714


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed