Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

The Blues And The Abstract Truth (Acoustic Sounds 180g) Vinyl LP

Impulse!SKU fr-4478

moody 1961 session feat. Bill Evans, Eric Dolphy, Freddie Hubbard + more
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $29.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 299 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Jazz album from American saxophonist Oliver Nelson. The Blues and the Abstract Truth was originally recorded in 1961 and features a lineup of notable musicians: Freddie Hubbard, Eric Dolphy, Bill Evans, Paul Chambers and Roy Haynes. Nelson explores the mood and structure of the blues throughout the album. The best known cut is "Stolen Moments," a mellow minor blues that would not be out of place on Miles Davis' Kind Of Blue. Six tracks in all. Acoustic Sounds edition remastered from the original tapes and pressed on 180g vinyl with deluxe tip-on gatefold jacket, recommended.

  • landmark 1961 recording w/ all-star lineup, featuring the premiere of jazz standard 'Stolen Moments'
  • 180g black vinyl pressing
  • Acoustic Sounds edition remastered from original analog tapes
  • housed in tip-on gatefold sleeve w/ liner notes
  • limited edition
  • featuring Oliver Nelson (a. sax), Eric Dolphy (a. sax, flute), Freddie Hubbard (t), Bill Evans (p), Paul Chambers (b), Roy Haynes (d) + more
  • music label: Impulse! 2021
reviewed by Cool Hand 03/2016
UPC: 602435669144


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed