Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Rip It Up (180g, Free MP3) LP

DominoSKU lp-5492

US repress of Orange Juice's sophomore release
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $24.00
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 240 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Sophomore release from Orange Juice! Rip It Up marked a departure from the jangly indie pop of Scottish band's debut, You Can't Hide Your Love Forever. There's a more evident studio production on songs like "Mud In Your Eye" and the reggae tinged "Breakfast Time." The band turned more towards synths, as well, with sounds that were new at the time popping up all over the album. This is most apparent on "Flesh Of My Flesh." What ends up drawing you in though, is the title track. "Rip It Up" was Orange Juice's only top 40 success and with even a cursory listen you can see why. They take a little guitar from the Nigel Rodgers book and pair it up with a bubbling Roland TB-303 bassline. It's a catchy ode to starting over that became the first chart single to feature the 303. There's really no denying the track. Limited edition 180 gram pressing. Peep the video for "Rip It Up" below.

  • music label: Domino 2014
reviewed by Michu Meszaros 03/2014

UPC: 82714424


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed