Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Passion (w/Free CD) LP

Because MusicSKU lp-5261

modern funk infused synthetic soul
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $27.00
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 270 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Para One got his start back in the mid 90s Parisian hip hop scene and was a staple of the Institubes label when everyone was checking for the next thing coming out of Paris during the mid aughts. Passion, his first full length album in 6 years, is a welcome comedown from the hyper kinetic house of his previous efforts. In place of the grinding four on the floor tracks are touches of modern funk and chopped up disco samples, as well as (dare I say) a little IDM. The album is fairly well paced after the initial drone of "Ice Cold." The fittingly titled "Wake Me Up" sets the tone for what is to come; skittering drum programming, double time rhythms, a healthy dose of bass, and tinges synthetic soul. The standouts from the record largely come in the form of vocoder infused ballads where Para One's Timbaland style programming has space to shine. "Every Little Thing" and "Love Ave" are sure to be crowd pleasers for the funk set. Where those cuts fill the low and slow vibe, "You" is another beast entirely. It's replete with the upbeat, anthemic feel of fellow Parisians, Daft Punk, but is definitely Para One's own. This is the one that is going to getting played in the clubs.

  • Music Label: Because Music 2012
reviewed by The Voice 07/2012
UPC: 23377844


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed