Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Wide Awake! Vinyl LP

Rough TradeSKU lp-9875

5th project from NY indie rockers, produced by Danger Mouse
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $23.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 239 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

New York City's Parquet Courts enlists Danger Mouse to produce it's latest album, Wide Awake!. The band, consisting of Andrew Savage, Austin Brown, Max Savage, and Sean Yeaton, set out to "explore new ideas in a hi-fi context" for this project, and according to A. Savage, who wrote a lot of the songs alongside A. Brown, inspiration came from artists like Grace Jones, Augustus Pablo, and Parliament, as well as '80s punk bands like Flipper, Big Boys and Minutemen, & The Dicks. The resulting songs pack in a lot of the "punk rock passion" that drove the group's earlier works, but the aggressive energy is balanced out by "lycial tenderness," which makes easily makes for one of the strongest albums from Parquet Courts. Listen to the band take on violence, economic inequality, white privilege, love, etc. over rhythmic, guitar-driven instrumentals. Highlights include: "Almost Had to Start a Fight/In and Out of Patience," "Wide Awake," "Tenderness," and "Mardi Gras Beads."

  • includes download code
  • fold-out poster insert
  • music label: Rough Trade 2018
reviewed by rei kwondo 08/18
UPC: 191402000115


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed