Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

musicforthemorningafter Vinyl 2LP

Shelly MusicSKU lp-10661

twangy alt-rock from 2001 reissued, inc'l "Life On A Chain"
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $29.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 299 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Musicforthemorningafter was the major label debut of multi-instrumentalist, singer, and songwriter Pete Yorn. He signed to Columbia records in 1999, beginning work on on his debut in addition to composing the score to the Farrelly Brothers film There’s Something About Mary. Yorn is often compared to Jeff Buckley, passionate and emotional while retaining a raw, honest edge. His sonics are primarily sourced from the quieter side of alt and indie rock, but he’s a clear fan of early 90s Britpop, with jangly Smiths-ish guitar popping up on several tracks. Yorn plays nearly every instrument on this recording, a major accomplishment for a record as lush and considered as this. “Life On A Chain” was impossible to miss at the time, starting with crackly vinyl grit that is quickly blown away by up-front drawling vocals, endlessly layered guitars, and spirited harmonica. “Just Another” is a downtempo number with hissing cymbals and delicate acoustic guitar underpinned with marimba and gentle keyboard washes. “Lose You” is piano and sharp drums decorated with spacey modular synth flourishes. Musicforthemorningafter has been out of print since 2011, and this edition was previously exclusive to his Spring 2019 tour. This LP is packaged in a gatefold sleeve and is pressed on black vinyl.

  • first time in print since 2011
  • black vinyl pressing
  • gatefold sleeve
  • limited edition
  • music label: Shelly Music 2019
reviewed by ONLY A MEMORY 06/2019
UPC: 190759402412


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed