Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Karma (Acoustic Sounds 180g) Vinyl LP

Impulse!SKU fr-4850

1969 soul jazz ft. the epic 32min 'Creator Has A Master Plan', cut from og. analog master tapes
1 Review
| Ask a question
sale $39.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 399 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Third album as a leader from saxophonist Pharoah Sanders. Karma was originally recorded in 1969 and is perhaps one of the most famous of the spiritual jazz albums to be released by Impulse!. The album is most memorable for the 32 minute long "The Creator Has a Master Plan," a piece composed by Sanders and vocalist Leon Thomas. It opens with a refrain that echos Sander's mentor, John Coltrane's A Love Supreme. In fact many see it as the sequel to the jazz giant's spiritual jazz opus. The music is laid back and accessible, bolstered by African percussion and the yodeling of Thomas. "The Creator Has A Master Plan" is split into two parts on side A and B (the 2nd part is also known as "Light of Love"), with shorter track "Colors" rounding out the B side. High-quality Acoustic Sounds edition cut from the original analog tapes, recommended.

  • 180g black vinyl pressing
  • Acoustic Sounds edition remastered from original analog tapes
  • housed in tip-on gatefold sleeve w/ liner notes
  • limited edition
  • featuring Pharoah Sanders (t. sax), Leon Thomas (vox, perc), Lonnie Liston Smith (p), James Spaulding (flute), Julius Watkins (fr. horn), Reggie Workman (b), Ron Carter (b), Richard Davis (b), Frederick Waits (d), William Hart (d), Nathaniel Bettis (perc)
  • original release year: 1969
  • music label: Impulse! 2022
reviewed by Cool Hand 02/2016
UPC: 602445710898


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed