Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Summer In Abaddon Vinyl LP

Touch And GoSKU lp-13242

fan fave indie rock from 1994 on Touch and Go
1 Review
| Ask a question
sale $26.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 269 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Summer in Abaddon is the third full-length from indie rock band Pinback, originally released in 2004. It was their first for storied indie label Touch and Go, and is less electronic-oriented than their 2003 Offcell EP, which results in a record that sounds  more organic and introspective, with thoughtful arrangements and strong atmospherics. The record was recorded DIY style, in a home bedroom - "I think (pro) studios are great, but that's sort of how Pinback became what Pinback is," explains founder Zach Smith, "We don't know what we're doing, but we have ears and we've been in studios; we think we could pull it off." And they did! The production is pristine, giving the delicate instrumentation room to shine. "Non Photo-Blue" is nearly twangy riffs, complex vocal layering, and scattered drums. "Syracuse" begins with low-slung bass riffs mixed with sharp acoustic guitar racing towards a nearly jubilant chorus. "Fortress" is hypnotic strums and murmured vocals, showing a bit of the group’s emo roots. This 15th anniversary edition is pressed on 180 gram olive green vinyl, and includes a 7" single with previously promo-only track "Todo".

  • black vinyl pressing
  • includes miniature lyric booklet
  • digital download included
  • music label: Touch And Go 2004
reviewed by PILOTWINGS '45 10/2019
UPC: 036172093717


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed