Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Pixies At The BBC Vinyl 3LP - PRE-ORDER

4ADSKU lp-14847

full 24 tracks from fan fave sessions w/ John Peel + Mark Goodier on vinyl for the 1st time
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$54.95 Original Price$59.98
Pre-Order Notice
This item is scheduled to ship Mid March 2024
*please read our Pre-Order Policy
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 549 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"Pixies at the BBC released for the first time on triple black vinyl. Between 1988 and 1991 - during the band’s 4AD years – Pixies recorded six sessions for the BBC, five for John Peel and one for Mark Goodier. Catching the raw energy of the band’s live performances, these sessions felt immediately noteworthy, timestamping a moment when Black Francis, Kim Deal, Joey Santiago and David Lovering were motoring out front. Among the 24 tracks they recorded in this time period (inc. two doubles - ‘Allison’ and ‘Wave of Mutilation’) are favourites from mini-album Come on Pilgrim and three of their four 4AD studio albums. Also recorded were three covers; reworks of The Beatles’ ‘Wild Honey Pie’, Eraserhead’s ‘(In Heaven) Lady in the Radiator Song’ and The Beach Boys’ ‘Hang On To Your Ego’, a track Black Francis covered a few years later on his debut Frank Black solo album. Differing from the original 1998 compilation, this reboot sees all tracks from the six sessions now included and presented in chronological order. The sleeve is also new with a wonderful black and gold design by Chris Bigg now adorning it. Chris pays loving tribute here to the band’s late-visual director Vaughan Oliver, using unseen archival Pixies imagery by long-time collaborator Simon Larbalestier." - 4AD

  • 24 tracks from the Pixies' BBC sessions on vinyl for the first time ever
  • first official release of the entire (6) sessions in full on any format
  • black triple vinyl pressing (please note: actual pressing color and packaging may differ from mock-up photo)
  • printed inner sleeves
  • tracklist: John Peel Session 3rd May 1988 1. Levitate Me 2. Hey 3. In Heaven (Lady In The Radiator Song) 4. Wild Honey Pie 5. Caribou John Peel Session 9th October 1988 6. Dead 7. Tame 8. There Goes My Gun 9. Manta Ray John Peel Session 16th April 1989 10. Down To The Well 11. Into The White 12. Wave Of Mutilation John Peel Session 11th June 1990 13. Allison 14. Velouria 15. Hang On To Your Ego 16. Is She Weird Mark Goodier Session 18th August 1990 17. Monkey Gone To Heaven 18. Ana 19. Allison 20. Wave Of Mutilation John Peel Session 23rd June 1991 21. Palace Of The Brine 22. Letter To Memphis 23. Motorway To Roswell 24. Subbacultcha
  • original release year: 1998
  • music label: 4AD 2024

Pre-Order Policy

  • If you want to order additional items (including other pre-orders), please make separate orders. Otherwise, we will hold your order until all items are in stock and ready to ship.
  • Scheduled ship dates are always estimates which are subject to change. If there is a substantial delay, we will contact you directly.
  • All vinyl pre-orders come with Turntable Lab stickers.
UPC: 191400063518

Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed