Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Pixies (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

Vinyl LoversSKU lp-11682

mythical 1987 'purple tape' demos, incl. 1st version of 'Here Comes Your Man'
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $31.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 319 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"Before the indie rock scene was blown wide open by Nirvana in the early '90s, the Pixies loomed large on college radio. By taking standard pop formats and turning them inside out - the band spelled out the new commandments of alternarock to a new generation of would-be grunge rockers. In March 1987, as the Pixies were just beginning to gain a reputation around the Boston area, they recorded their first demo, known by Pixies fans as The Purple Tape. This demo landed the Pixies their first record deal with 4AD, and the eight songs that appear on their first album Come On Pilgrim (1987) were culled from this same demo. However, there were nine more songs that didn't make the cut, and these are the songs that are found here. That original raw 1987 demo comes early versions of 'Here Comes Your Man', 'Down The Well', and 'Build High', as well as the hidden gem 'Rock A My Soul'. Orange color vinyl." - Vinyl Lovers

  • 9 previously unreleased tracks from Boston indie heroes' mythical 1987 'purple tape' demo cassette
  • orange colored vinyl
  • printed inner sleeve
  • limited edition
  • music label: Vinyl Lovers 2020

UPC: 0889397900908


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed