Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Seven Churches (180g, Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

CombatSKU lp-11013

1st American death metal album lp reissued
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $25.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 259 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Seven Churches is the debut album from the Bay Area band Possessed, who are often considered to be the first death metal band ever. (They're definitely one of the first in the US, at least.) They were inspired by the early work of Metallica and Exodus, an opening slot for the former led to an audition for Metal Blade records. They passed, but an appearance on a compilation drew the attention of Combat Records, who released Seven Churches in 1985. The record was massively influential, credited with connecting the dots between thrash and death metal, and inspiring the likes of Napalm Death, Morbid Angel, and Opeth. Lead track "The Exorcist" begins with a snippet of "Tubular Bells" by Mike Oldfield, a calm before the storm along the lines of the kosmische intro to Deathcrush by Mayhem, but this is quickly set aside for aggressive shredding by Larry LaLonde (later of Primus), double-time blast beats from Mike Sus, and regurgitated vocals from bassist Jeff Becerra. This album is pressed on coke bottle clear colored vinyl, and is packaged in a gatefold sleeve including full album lyrics.

  • 180g coke bottle clear colored pressing
  • gatefold sleeve with full lyrics and printed insert
  • limited edition
  • original release year: 1985
  • music label: Combat 2019
reviewed by TYRANITAR 12/2019
UPC: 190759915318

Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed