Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

1992 Deluxe Vinyl 2LP

Rough TradeSKU hh-4864

expanded edition of Nokia's NYC AF debut
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$26.95 Original Price$27.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 269 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A

Lab Overview

Princess Nokia (née Destiny Frasqueri) manages to succeed where most of the latest batch of NYC rappers have failed, by nailing a sound that that is so undeniably New York while retaining solid, universal radio and club appeal. Tracks like “Saggy Denim” (featuring Wiki from Ratking) and “Brick City” are primed for Rucker Park courtside boomboxes, and “Green Line” does exactly what it says on the tin. But there’s something for everyone on 1992. Frasqueri covers a wide range of styles and cadences, coolly channeling a vintage Foxy Brown over a very Neptunes-esque beat on opener “Bart Simpson” before pivoting to full-on ratchet mode on club anthem “Tomboy.” She breaks down her heritage in a syrupy, pitched-down drawl over a hair-raising beat on the stunning “Brujas,” and again on “Mine,” two of the record’s absolute best tracks. Check out the back-to-back lyrical aerobics in her best MF DOOM deadpan on “Goth Kid” and “Reciepts.” Perhaps the only thing that could be more New York than this record is throwing a cup of hot soup at some belligerent asshole on the L train, but Nokia has ticked that box as well. 1992 was originally self-released as a 9-track digital download in 2016, and Rough Trade have done well in expanding it to a whopping 16 tracks on this gorgeous deluxe gatefold edition. Recommended.

  • expanded 16-track edition
  • deluxe gatefold sleeve
  • music label: Rough Trade 2017
reviewed by hannibal chew 11/2017
    UPC: 883870088015


    Review & Q+A

    Labheads Also Viewed