Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Wanna Be Your Man Vinyl LP

Stones ThrowSKU fr-3895

return of the forgotten Bay Area boogie funk god, produced by Mndsgn
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $19.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 199 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

First album in 34 years, still sounds like '84. With only one record to his name for over three decades (1984's private press boogie rarity Right On Time), most would assume Prophet's musical career had ended, and his tunes would get lost in the depths of obscurity. Lucky for us, this is not the case. Thanks to Stones Throw honcho Peanut Butter Wolf, who played said LP in his sets, and a chance encounter, the flame stayed alive for Prophet. After randomly meeting at a record fair, Wolf invited Prophet to make a return to live performance by opening for Snoop Dogg & Dam-Funk in 2013. In addition, he also introduced Prophet to Mndsgn, who ended up kicking it off and working on music together. The resulting album, Wanna Be Your Man, is a triumphant return for Prophet, who remains true to his Bay Area boogie roots after all these years. From Prophet - "The wild flair. The in-your-face kinda thang. That’s always been me, man." Jams for days including "Insanity," "I Do Love," "Wanna Be Your Man," and two newly re-recorded cuts from his '84 album "Tonight" (now with Nite Jewel), and "Right On Time." 8 tracks (note: back cover is misprinted and lists 10 tracks)  in all with "big ass" poster included. Recommended.

  • "big ass" poster included
  • music label: Stones Throw 2018
reviewed by Al Pastor 08/2016
UPC: 659457238513


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed