Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Radio Free Europe Vinyl 7"

Craft RecordingsSKU lp-12140

faithful reproduction of 1981 debut single w/ original mix + b-side
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $11.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 119 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"R.E.M.’s first and breakthrough single 'Radio Free Europe' was initially released by a small Atlanta-based record label, Hib-Tone Records. Produced by Mitch Easter, the original recording of the single had different mixes by Easter and by label-owner Johnny Hibbert. Although the band preferred Easter’s mix, Hibbert chose his version for the 1981 limited pressing 45RPM single, which is now a coveted collector’s item, packaged in a black and white sleeve featuring original photography by Michael Stipe. 'Radio Free Europe' was later re-recorded for the band’s first album release on major record label I.R.S. Records. That album, Murmur, set the band steadfastly on the path to college radio domination and critical acclaim. The band’s 1988 compilation album, Eponymous, included what was called the Original Hib-Tone single, but what was in fact Easter’s original mix, not Hibbert’s. This limited edition 7” pressing represents the first ever re-release of the original Hib-Tone recording of 'Radio Free Europe' and comes housed in a replica sleeve." - Craft Recordings

  • faithful reproduction of R.E.M.'s 1981 debut single w/ original mix and b-side 'Sitting Still'
  • black vinyl pressing
  • first time on vinyl in 40 years
  • housed in repro pic sleeve
  • music label: Craft Recordings 2021
UPC: 888072164819


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed