Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Systems / Layers (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl 2LP

Quarterstick RecordsSKU lp-8127

acclaimed experimental neo-classical reissued
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $29.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 299 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Fifth and final studio album from Louisville's Rachel's. Systems / Layers was originally recorded between July 2001 and June 2003, and was a collaborative dance/theater piece with the New York ensemble SITI Company. Largely instrumental, the album follows eight characters through one day of their lives in the city, with the band using field recordings of urban environments. The Rachel's droney ambience interspersed with the sounds of city life could easily soundtrack your day. Bowed string instruments float by like cars as you wait for the light to change. Stranger's conversations creep into your view only to vanish as quickly as they appeared. It's modern chamber music that has been birthed directly from the city streets. Acclaimed for its unique inventiveness upon its release, Systems / Layers has only improved with age. Available now for the first time on vinyl. Twenty tracks in all. Released by Quarterstick Records on limited edition white double vinyl housed in a gatefold sleeve with expended artwork and photography, Technology is Killing Music EP and a download code.

  • limited to 500 copies
  • first time on vinyl
  • white double vinyl pressing
  • includes 2005 EP Technology is Killing Music
  • digital download included
  • music label: Quarterstick Records 2016
reviewed by Mel-O Fellow 11/2016
UPC: 33960968


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed