Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Messages From The Stars Vinyl 12"

Espacial DiscosSKU fr-3811

cosmic boogie holy grail
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $23.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 239 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Real recognize real: it was Dam-Funk who first hipped us (and the rest of the modern world) to this absolute scorcher way back in 2008 on his first-ever Stones Throw mix. “Messages From The Stars” is a perfect boogie track in every possible way: cosmic pads, ace synth fingerplay, banging drums, syrupy female vocals, space sounds that Dr. Who would cosign, and a synth bass perfectly mixed down to accentuate those stellar high-mid frequencies. Richard A. Hewson formed the R.A.H. Band in 1976 after an illustrious career spent arranging songs for the likes of Herbie Hancock, The Beatles, Supertramp, Diana Ross and more, but “Messages” is his masterpiece. First-ever official vinyl reissue courtesy of Espacial Discos; remastered and cut loud and deep at 45rpm, housed in full color replica pic sleeve. The 6+ minute Long Wave mix is the one we reach for, but the appropriately dubbed out Astro Mix on the flip is perfectly tuned for blurry afterhours cosmic excursions. An abridged version of the track opens the Going Up LP, which was also just reissued by Espacial Discos. Recommended.

  • first-ever official vinyl reissue
  • remastered sound
  • full color replica pic sleeve
  • music label: Espacial Discos 2018
reviewed by hannibal chew 03/2018
UPC: 26212104


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed