Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Back On the Planet (Free MP3) 2LP

BrainfeederSKU lp-5689

cosmic beat explorations from the afrofuturist
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $22.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 229 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

After a long while Ras G is back on Brainfeeder! With Back On The Planet the Los Angeles based producer continues to carry the torch of Afrofuturism that he inherited from the likes of Sun Ra and George Clinton. G is definitely one of the more esoteric members of the LA beats scene and this is apparent from the start of the album. A barrage of free-form drumming, sounding something like Max Roach channeling Ornette Coleman is occasionally upended by spastic stabs of sub-bass. The cacophony sets the tone for an album that is intent on taking you through many moods before settling into a barrage of low slung cosmic beats. Ras G draws on the histories of dub and G-funk while keeping one foot firmly panted in the future. It's as if Back On The Planet is only half true; at least part of Ras G is still traversing through the universe, unearthing sounds and textures the rest of us have yet to hear. Double LP housed in a gatefold sleeve, includes free download of the album.

  • music label: Brainfeeder ‎2013
reviewed by Kool Moby 08/2013
UPC: 41551983


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed