Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

4 EPs (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl 2LP

WichitaSKU lp-13519

strong early material compiled on vinyl for the 1st time
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $49.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 499 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

In the early 1990s, British bands saved some of their best material for EPs, and Ride is no exception. 4 EPs collects their first 4 Creation extended plays as a 2LP for the first time. Presented chronologically, it's clear to see the progress they made as they released three EPs in 1990, leading up to their debut LP Nowhere. While the Ride and Play EPs are slightly more raw sounding than what would come, they did contain some of their best tracks. Play leads off with one of the best songs of their entire career, the kaleidoscopic pop gem "Like A Daydream". Their rapid development really shows on the Fall EP (side C here), a record so strong that all four tracks were included on CD versions of Nowhere worldwide, and felt like part of the album, upon its release in October 1990. Fall runs the gamut of their strengths, from the moody droning vibes of "Nowhere" to the majestic "Dreams Burn Down", the only track on 4 EPs that also appeared on an album. "Taste", the kind of song that made crowds bounce up and down in unison when played live in the 90s, even had a video made for it and was later quoted in a Saint Etienne song. This is how powerful their b-sides were at the time. The Today Forever EP (side D here), released in March 1991, a full year before their second LP Going Blank Again, is simply one of the best EPs Creation ever released. Includes 16 page booklet featuring archive photos and an essay by Sonic Cathedral’s Nathaniel Cramp. Recommended.

  • seminal shoegaze band's first 4 EPs compiled for the first time
  • white colored double vinyl pressing
  • housed in gatefold jacket
  • includes 16 page booklet containing photos + liner notes
  • digital download included
  • limited edition
  • original release year: 1990-1991
  • music label: Wichita 2022
reviewed by V. O. Blivion 11/2022



UPC: 5055036215749


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed