Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Coming From Reality (180g) Vinyl LP

Light In The AtticSKU lp-5346

psych rock masterpiece from '71
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $19.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 199 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Light In The Attic comes through once again with another Rodriguez rarity. This time it's his 1971 full length Coming From Reality given its first official reissue. This was the follow-up to Cold Fact and the final album he was allowed to record for the Sussex label. If you are new to Rodriguez (maybe you just saw the documentary Searching For Sugarman on which he is the main subject) or an old fan, this one is a treat as it is basically Rodriguez's vision of the perfect pop album (at the time). From LITA: "Coming From Reality found Rodriguez decamping from Detroit to London’s Lansdowne Studios, where the album was recorded with some of the UK’s top talent including Chris Spedding (Sex Pistols, Dusty Springfield, Harry Nilsson) and producer Steve Rowland (The Pretty Things, PJ Proby and the man who discovered The Cure), who recalls Coming From Reality as his favourite ever recording project. Highlights include the super-poppy “To Whom It May Concern”, the “Rocky Raccoon”-inspired “A Most Disgusting Song” and period piece “Heikki’s Suburbia Bus Tour”. The CD reissue also includes three previously unreleased bonus tracks recorded in Detroit in 1972 with Cold Fact collaborators Mike Theodore & Dennis Coffey, representing the last thing they ever did together." Just like Cold Fact this album is given the deluxe reissue treatment on 180g vinyl, complete with detailed liner note insert, lyrics sheet and gatefold art with die-cut, tip-on jacket. Recommended.

  • music label: Light In The Attic 2012
reviewed by Extravagant Traveler 10/2012
UPC: 45969382


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed