Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

The Will Come, Is Now (180g) Vinyl LP

ESP DiskSKU fr-4752

HTF 1975 avant garde jazz from Sun Ra bassist
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$21.95 Original Price$26.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 219 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"Legendary Sun Ra bassist Ronnie Boykins stepped out on his own for his first and only release as a leader on The Will Come, Is Now. He was invited by ESP in 1964 to record his own album, and in February 1974, he told ESP that he was finally ready, and the session took place later that month. This recording not only features Boykins' solid abilities as a bassist, including his marvelous arco work, but also his talents as a composer and arranger. In addition, one is treated to an all-natural bass sound, a rare sound during this particular era of jazz history. In septet format, Boykins' six originals create a variety of moods and textures that not only evokes the music of Sun Ra but also reflects Boykins' own sensibilities as an artist. Original pressings, made just before ESP-Disk' went on hiatus for forty years and thus less common that other ESP LPs, often go for upwards of $150. 180 gram vinyl features original artwork." - ESP Disk

  • lone solo effort from Sun Ra Arkestra bassist
  • 180g black vinyl pressing
  • featuring Ronnie Boykins (b), Monty Waters (a. sax, s. sax), James Vass  (a. sax, s. sax), Joe Ferguson (s. sax, t. sax, flute), Daoud Haroom (trombone), Art Lewis (perc), George Avaloz (perc)
  • original release year: 1975
  • music label: ESP Disk 2022
UPC: 825481302616


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed