Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Two Headed Freap (180g) Vinyl LP

Blue Note RecordsSKU fr-4749

1972 Blue Note fusion fave, 'Electric Relaxation' sample 🔥
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $27.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 279 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"Organist Ronnie Foster has collaborated with many greats over the course of his career from George Benson to the Jacksons to Stevie Wonder who brought the organist in to record on his seminal album Songs In The Key Of Life. But Foster first caught the ear of Blue Note Records co-founder Francis Wolff with his standout performance on Grant Green’s searingly funky live album Alive! recorded in 1970. Foster would go on to make his own Blue Note debut two years later with the 1972 jazz-funk classic Two Headed Freap produced by George Butler. The vibrant 8-song set included funky covers of Al Green, Wilson Pickett, and Joe Simon along with 5 compelling originals including the propulsive opening track 'Chunky,' the breezy jam 'Summer Song,' and 'Mystic Brew,' a visionary track which A Tribe Called Quest would later sample on their hip hop classic 'Electric Relaxation.' This Blue Note Classic Vinyl Edition is stereo, all-analog, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original master tapes, and pressed on 180g vinyl at Optimal." - Blue Note Records

  • 180g black vinyl pressing
  • all-analog remaster cut from the original tapes
  • first time on vinyl in 20+ years
  • featuring Ronnie Foster (organ), Gene Bertoncini (g), Gene Bianco (harp), George Devens (vibes), George Duvivier (b), Gordon Edwards  (b), Jimmy Johnson (d), Arthur Jenkins (perc)
  • original release year: 1972
  • music label: Blue Note Records 2022
UPC: 602445352036


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed