Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Mellow Dream (Transparent Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP - Turntable Lab Exclusive

We Release JazzSKU fr-4861

soothing 1977 j-jazz, a more laidback counterpart to 1976's Scenery, Lab exclusivo!
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $34.95
Limited Restock!
warehouse find / last copies!
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 349 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"We Release Jazz (WRWTFWW Records' sister-label) present the official reissue of criminally overlooked Japanese jazz gem Mellow Dream by Hokkaido pianist wunderkind Ryo Fukui, originally released in 1977. Released in conjunction with the its legendary predecessor 1976's Scenery. Firmly standing on the foundation he laid down with Scenery, Ryo Fukui continues his exploration of modal, bop, and cool jazz sounds with meticulous grace and absolute mastery. As its title suggests, Mellow Dream ventures into slightly mellower, more soulful, and sometimes more contemplative territories (the Bill Evans-reminiscent 'Mellow Dream' and 'My Foolish Heart') while still packing the commanding punch Fukui's work is loved for, as heard on the amazingly bombastic 'Baron Potato Blues' or the gigantic McCoy Tyner/John Coltrane-influenced 'Horizon' which sees each member of the trio demonstrating their virtuosity for nine exhilarating minutes. With his sophomore album, Ryo Fukui swings from melancholy to vibrant joy with ease, and reminds you that jazz is best served with a pinch of blues, and displays an immensely rare combination of pure talent, unique personal approach and focused discipline. Sourced from the original masters. Mastered at half speed." - We Release Jazz

  • Turntable Lab exclusive pressing released as part of the Turntable Lab x WRWTFWW Collection
  • transparent colored vinyl
  • remastered at half-speed from the original analog tapes
  • limited edition of 600
  • featuring Ryo Fukui (p), Satoshi Denpoh (b), Yoshinori Fukui (d)
  • original release year: 1977
  • music label: We Release Jazz 2023
  • TTL Editions 090
UPC: 4260544825422


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed