Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

async (180g) Vinyl 2LP

Milan RecordsSKU lp-14220

late-career brilliance; ambient soundscapes inspired by nature, sculpture + everyday objects
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $34.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 349 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

First solo album from Japan's Ryuichi Sakamoto in eight years. async was conceived as a soundtrack to a non-existent Andrei Tarkovsky film. Sakamoto took inspiration from nature, sculpture and the everyday objects around him to craft an aural landscape that moves like Tarkovsky's long shots. It's beautifully chilling material that draws you into an intimate, if somewhat unstable, world. There are moments that recall Satie and others that will take you back to Sakamoto's early 80s material. Fifteen tracks in all. Released by Milan Records on double vinyl housed in a gatefold sleeve.

  • 180g black double vinyl pressing
  • gatefold sleeve
  • original release year: 2017
  • music label: Milan Records 2023
reviewed by Hank Ohs 09/2017
UPC: 196588217111


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed