Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

You / My Music Vinyl 12"

ColumbiaSKU fr-3879

1978 disco rarity, Jadakiss sample!
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $15.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 159 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A

Lab Overview

Fuck… the… frail shit! Yup, “My Music” is the break Alchemist looped for Jadakiss & Styles P’s club anthem “We Gon Make It.” It’s the opening track on Samuel Jonathan Johnson’s sole LP from 1978, but the promo-only Columbia disco 12” is rare as shit. The song itself is perfectly fine, but listening to that break toward the end with the heavenly strings has got me feeling like it’s the best 20 seconds of music I’ve ever heard in my life. So good, lucky Alchemist didn't even have to lift a finger, that beat made itself. This the type of record you sneak in to a funk or disco set when you want to hear the place let out a collective “oh shit!”; when you wanna throw a bone to the thugs in the back without actually taking it all the way there. And “My Music” is actually the B-side! The A-side is “You,” which is a fairly trad piece of major label disco but still worth having on deck. Officially licensed UK import reissue, recommended.

  • 45 RPM
  • official UK import pressing
  • music label: Columbia 2018
reviewed by Whale Scale 06/2018

A post shared by @turntablelab on



Review & Q+A

Labheads Also Viewed