Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

New Day Vinyl 2LP

Abstract ArchitectureSKU dm-5273

second album from the veteran Japanese producer and DJ
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $24.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 249 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Second studio album from Japan's Satoshi Tomiie. New Day comes more than fifteen years after Tomiie's first full length album, Full Lick. Though he may be best known for the 1989 house hit "Tears," which was produced alongside Frankie Knuckles, and his longstanding affiliation with composer Ryuichi Sakamoto of Yellow Magic Orchestra fame, Tomiie is an accomplished producer and DJ in his own right. His output may have slowed in the past few years, but he's kept up a busy schedule DJing. This seems to have informed many of the tracks on New Day. The productions are crisp and dancefloor ready. The foundation is deep house, but Tomiie's choice of sounds and penchant for precise production add a bit of Metro Area's flair to the music. There is a bit of nostalgia to his music, but the producer seems to be looking forward rather than mining the past. Includes the songs: "Thursday, 2AM," "New Day" which features John Schmersal on vocals, "Wave Side Back," and "Cucina Rossa." Eight tracks in all. Released by Abstract Architecture on double vinyl with a gatefold sleeve and download code.

  • includes free download
  • music label: Abstract Architecture 2015
reviewed by Joey Coco 08/2015
UPC: 61176452


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed