Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Act Surprised (Indie Exclusive Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

Dangerbird RecordsSKU lp-10579

familiar in higher fidelity, new tunes from indie trailblazers
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$15.95 Original Price$18.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 159 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Sebadoh was a key group in the 90’s alt-rock scene, and has remained consistent over a lengthy career. The group was started by Lou Barlow and Eric Gaffney in 1987, with Barlow making it his full time gig after being kicked out of Dinosaur Jr. in 1989. Sebadoh has a diverse output and aesthetic, covering sensitive folk rock, jangle pop, noise rock experimentation, and proto-grunge riffage. This spirit of eclecticism remains in clear effect, regardless of many changes in personnel, record labels, (Domino, Homestead, Sub Pop, Joyful Noise) and long gaps between albums. The contemporary incarnation of the group sees Barlow joining with bass player Jason Lowenstein (Firey Furnaces) and dummer Bob D’Amico. Making a few records together has solidified their chops, giving Act Surprised a higher fidelity sound than previous efforts, with hard-hitting drums and a shimmering high-end. “Phantom” is a strong start with tommy gun drumrolls, “Celebrate The Void” is an up-front vocal, hazily treated guitars, and a solid, buzzy bassline. “See-Saw” features chipper acoustic guitar flourishes, “Raging River” has a massive bluesy riff. This record is pressed on indie exclusive opaque orange vinyl, and includes a two sided insert with full lyrics.

  • indie exclusive opaque orange vinyl pressing
  • includes 2 sided lyrics insert
  • digital download included
  • limited edition
  • music label: Dangerbird Records 2019
reviewed by TOREADOR TUNES 06/2019
UPC: 842803019038


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed