Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

I Need A Freak Vinyl 2LP

Dark EntriesSKU lp-11815

heavily-bootlegged 1983 electro-boogie / synthpop oddity, 1st ever official reissue
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $22.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 229 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"Dark Entries is pleased to announce a deluxe reissue of Sexual Harrassment’s 1983 opus I Need A Freak. Lynn Tolliver, DJ/Program Director at Cleveland’s WZAK, adopted the pseudonym David Payton in order to keep his musical endeavors separate from his public persona. Sexual Harrassment (misspelled deliberately) was formed as a concept band, with members selected based on appearance and choreographic skill rather than musical ability. Tolliver’s explicit lyrics focused on the central themes of desire and sexual relations. Working at a studio in Akron, he recorded an album of quirky-yet-lurid electro funk, which was released on Heat Records. Tolliver remarks, 'I learned as a youngster, sex sells! The things that are rated the worst – violence, horror and sex – are the things people want to see or hear about.' I Need a Freak was a surprise hit, selling over 100,000 copies. While the album’s naughtier moments seem quaint by contemporary standards, the fusion of lo-fi funk and disaffected vocals still stuns today. I Need A Freak is presented here for the first time on double LP, pressed at 45 rpm for maximum DJ-friendliness. Also included are two bonus cuts, 'We Want Prince' and 'These Are The Things That I Like', previously released as singles in 1984 and 1986, respectively. 'We Want Prince' is both a homage to the Purple one and a gentle satire of obsessive fandom. I Need A Freak has been remastered by George Horn at Fantasy Studios. The album comes in a gatefold sleeve featuring the original artwork. Included are lyrics, photos, and liner notes by Lynn Tolliver and drummer Dale Jackson." - Dark Entries

  • heavily-bootlegged 1983 electro-boogie / synthpop oddity, first ever official vinyl reissue
  • black double vinyl pressing
  • cut at 45RPM
  • includes rare 12" bonus tracks  'We Want Prince' + 'These Are The Things That I Like'
  • housed in deluxe gatefold jacket w/ extensive liner notes
  • music label: Dark Entries 2021
UPC: 794811515104


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed