Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Lese Majesty (Etched Vinyl, Free MP3) Vinyl 2LP

Sub PopSKU hh-3934

sophomore album from former Digable MC
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $25.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 259 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Second transmission from Shabazz Palaces on Sub-Pop. Lese Majesty follows the critically-acclaimed debut Black Up and finds former Digable Planets emcee Ishmael Butler and Tendau Maraire further exploring the outer reaches of the hip-hop cosmos. While the first album from the Seattle-based duo was easily one of the most progressive hip-hop releases of 2011, Lese Majesty pushes even further - totally blurring the edges of convention to create a sound that is uniquely its own. The 18 track album is grouped into seven suites, each of which focuses on a particular aspect or direction in SP's seemingly freeform style. Seriously Ish sounds like a sort of space-age prophet over the unpredictable, constantly evolving, synth-laden beats. Check "Forerunner Foray," "Solemn Swears," "Ishmael," "Down 155th In The MCM Snorkel," and "Colluding Oligarchs" for the critical beatdown. Double vinyl (featuring etching on the last side) packaged in rubberized, textured sleeve with printed inner sleeves, and free digital download. Recommended.

  • music label: Sub Pop 2014
reviewed by TKB 08/2014
UPC: 86087933


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed