Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Sweet Sweet Dreams (180g) Vinyl LP

Analog AfricaSKU fr-3580

1984 soca disco boogie grail reissued
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $24.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 249 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Heat Alert! Shadow's Sweet Sweet Dreams finally gets a proper reissue courtesy of Analog Africa, and we couldn't be more stoked. Originally released in 1984, the album was initially a commercial failure, but this would prove that it was just way ahead of its time. On Sweet Sweet Dreams, the enigmatic artist known as Shadow fused soca and calypso rhythms with heavy synth disco and boogie, ultimately creating a sound that had never been heard coming out of his native Trinidad & Tobago. This sound would only prove to be recognized decades later as Shadow's "proto-electronic cocktail" would become one of the most sought-after Caribbean disco records, earning "holy grail" status, and a hefty price tag for original pressings. Listen to the potent vibes on "Let's Get It Together" or the dance floor burning "D'Hardest" that truly lives up to its name as a hard grooving soca-boogie scorcher. This official reissue comes on heavyweight 180 gram vinyl and comes complete with foldout poster with extensive liner notes and interviews with Shadow, plus rare photos from the artist's personal collection. Recommended.  

  • limited edition reissue
  • 180 gram vinyl pressing
  • foldout poster w/ liner notes on back
  • features exclusive photos from Shadow's personal collection
  • music label: Analog Africa 2016
reviewed by Aloo Pye 02/2017


A post shared by @turntablelab on


UPC: 50501512


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed