Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Soul Time! (Indie Exclusive Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

Daptone RecordsSKU fr-4758

handpicked 7" singles from NYC modern soul group on LP for the 1st time
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $24.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 249 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"Over the course of their career Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings developed an international reputation as the no. 1 group on the soul scene. Soul Time! is an exploration of the full range of their dynamic sound through twelve songs hand picked by the Daptone Records gang, each one a precious exclusive. The needle drops on 'Genuine Pts. 1 & 2', a super-charged funk arrangement that evokes the late Godfather not only with the spirited syncopation of the Dap-Kings rhythms, but also with the raw power of Jonesʼ voice. It is performances such as these that earned her the moniker 'the Female James Brown.' Though it has long been one of their best-selling singles, it makes itʼs album debut here. 'Longer and Stronger', written for her 50th birthday, is a deep mid-tempo soul celebration of the strength and determination with which Sharon Jones earned her long overdue success. The theme of empowerment pushes on through 'He Said I Can', an energetic stomper belted over an arrangement reminiscent of the Isley Brothers early-seventies hey day, and 'Iʼm Not Gonna Cry' brings us back to the raw funk intensity of Genuine with a squealing tenor solo and a fiery vocal. Side one wraps with a scorching studio performance of 'When I Come Home', long a highlight of the bandʼs live show but rearing its head on album here for the first time as well..." - Daptone

  • compilation of bestselling 7" singles from Brooklyn soul group
  • hot pink colored vinyl
  • indie exclusive
  • digital download included
  • original release year: 2011
  • music label: Daptone Records 2022
UPC: 823134672413


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed