Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Full Circle Vinyl 2LP

Ghostly InternationalSKU lp-11000

blunted beats laced w/ classic Detroit futurism
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$15.95 Original Price$17.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 159 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

The opening bars of Zach Saginaw’s debut album as Shigeto instantaneously whisk you back to the late 00s, a time for many soundtracked by bootleg remixes, mp3 blogs, casual references to “the beat scene.” Doubling down on the Semi Circle EP, Full Circle is brimming with post-Dilla beats, 8bit synths, sidechain compression and wonky basslines; cheerfully avoiding quantization or pinning down of any sort. What separates this record from similar ones by Flying Lotus and the rest of the pack, for me, are the immaculate mixdowns and forward-thinking sound design - while his music present day may more closely resemble some of your standard jazzy Detroit deep house fare, Full Circle is laced with classic Detroit techno futurism. The counterpoint to these inventive synth textures is a generous helping of field recordings sprinkled throughout, which bring the record back down to Earth. Another thing that helped Saginaw rise to the top of a heap otherwise populated with Ableton dorks are his jazz bona fides, on full display here and still being embraced a decade later. Check out “Brown Eyed Girl,” “Relentless Drag,” “Ann Arbor Part 1,” “Look At All The Smiling Faces” and “Children At Midnight.” 10th anniversary repress on Ghostly International, recommended.

  • black double vinyl pressing
  • first time on vinyl since 2010
  • printed inner sleeve
  • digital download included
  • music label: Ghostly International 2019
reviewed by Big Salad 12/2019
UPC: 804297812915


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed